Winners of the Nikon European Film Festival announced

Rebecca Greig

Nikon has today announced the winners of the annual Nikon European Film Festival – a festival in association with Raindance, an independent film organisation, and Oscar-winning director Asif Kapadia

Screen shot 2016-04-25 at 15.33.53

The winner of the short-film contest is Not A Pizza Order by Cécile Ragot. Ragot takes home the Grand Prix prize, which includes a Nikon D810 film kit and a one week, all expenses paid networking trip to the Cannes Film festival in May this year.

Other category winners include; Best Narrative won by Martin Taube with Bad Luck, Technical Excellence won by Pierre le Gall with Evasion and Best Student Entry won by Tormi Torap with Diamondjaw.

Enthusiast and professional film-makers were asked to create a shirt film of up to 140 seconds depicting an ordinary moment into a creative narative. The winners were selected by a jury from over 550 entries submitted by budding short filmmakers from across Europe.

The esteemed jury was chaired by the director of Oscar-winning documentary Amy, Asif Kapadia, who was also joined by Emmy-nominated photographer and filmmaker Pieter ten Hoopen, the founder of independent film festival Raindance, Elliot Grove, and Nikon Europe’s Dirk Jasper.

The whole jury were impressed by Ragot’s powerful film that highlights the struggles of domestic violence.

Asif Kapadia commented, “The standout films had a really strong idea and story; ones which took me on a mini journey. I felt, personally, that Not a Pizza Order was an incredibly powerful short film. You think it’s a comedy film, but actually it’s a really serious piece of work about something very important. I’m always looking for films that stay with me; whether it’s an image or moment, or something that when I walk away, I remember that film. I think the prizewinners are all brilliant movies.”

On winning the competition Cécile Ragot said: “This award is such a wonderful encouragement to keep trying and keep making films. I am so thankful to the Jury members. I make films hoping they will maybe have an impact on people’s lives or people’s perspectives, and this award means I can maybe turn this hope into a reality.”

In addition to the winners that were selected by the jury, the People’s Choice award was won by Ad van Brunschot with his film called At Night They Work. The People’s Choice award was selected based on individual likes and shares received on the Nikon Film Festival website.

The two winners of the sub-categories Best Narrative and Technical Excellence will receive a Nikon D750 and €3,000, while the Best Student Entry will receive a Nikon D750 film kit and €2,000 . The filmmaker behind the People’s Choice will receive a Nikon D750 film kit.

  • Tell a Friend
  • Our Twitter provides the latest photography news and our Facebook fan page is the best place to communicate with other Digital Photographer fans.